0183 250 6408 commr-cusasr[at]nic[dot]in

Whats New...

Instructions for
Passengers going
to India / Pakistan

Customs Duty Calculator

Explore More

Budget Economic Survey

Explore More

Exchange Rate

Explore More

Customs Preventive Commissionerate Amritsar

Amritsar Custom Logo

Welcome to the Customs Commissionerate, Amritsar which has its jurisdiction covering the states of Punjab, Himachal Pardesh and the Union Territory of Chandigarh, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladhak. It has its Headquarters at the holy city of Amritsar which was founded by the fourth Guru of the Sikhs, Guru Ram Dass ji in 1577. Amritsar city is also famous for its name which means the "Pool of Nector" inside which the Sikh's holiest and world famous Gurudwara "Golden Temple" is established. It is a symbol of universal brother hood, magnificence and strength not only for the Sikh people all over the world, but also for the country as a whole. The Amritsar city is also famous for the Jalianwala Bagh Memorial and for the Durgiana Mandir which dates back to 16th century.

The Customs Commissionerate Amritsar, came into existence vide Notification No 20/97 Customs (N.T.) dated 09.07.1997, which trifurcated the erstwhile Commissionerate of Central Excise and Customs, Chandigarh and established Central Excise Commissionerate Chandigarh I, Chandigarh II, and Customs Commissionerate Amritsar. Thus, Customs (Prev.) Commissionerate Amritsar having jurisdiction over State of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Union Territory of Chandigarh, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladhak came into existence on 09 July 1997 with Shri D.S. Sra as the first Commissioner.

Further, vide Notification No. 04/2004 Customs (N.T.) dated 05.01.2004 which amended Notification No. 15/2002 Customs (N.T.) dated 07.03.2002, revised the jurisdiction of the Commissionerate to included State of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Union Territory of Chandigarh.

Further in compliance to Notification No 78/2014 Customs (N.T.) dated 16 Sept 2014 Ministry of Finance, Govt. of India the Customs Commissionerate Amritsar was bifurcated into two parts i.e. Customs Commissionerate Ludhiana and Customs (Prev.) Commissionerate Amritsar. Further vide Notf. No. 38/2017 Cus(N.T.) dated 13.04.2017 issued under F. No. 434/15/2016- Cus IV amending thereby Notf No 78/2014 Cus(N.T.) dated 16.09.2014 issued under F. No.- 437/48/2014- Cus IV, by the Central Board of Excise & Customs, New Delhi wherein the area of the Jurisdiction of Customs Commissionerate, Amritsar and Customs Commissionerate Ludhiana falling under the Chief Commissioner, Customs Preventive, Delhi Zone has been re-organised.

Subsequently, vide Notification No.82/2017(N.T.) as amended the jurisdiction of Commissionerate of Customs(Prev.), Amritsar has been re-organised w.e.f. 15.01.2018. Presently, this Commissionerate have jurisdiction over the whole union territory of J&K and Ladhak and area of the district of Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Tarn Taran, Ferozpur and Fazilka in the state of Punjab. The incumbent Commissioner Sh. Dipak Kumar Gupta assumed charge on 26.07.2017.

The prominent establishments under its jurisdiction are Integrated Check Post Attari, Land Customs Station Attari Rail, Rail Cargo Amritsar, Shri Guru Ram Dass Ji International Airport Amritsar, and LCS Dera Baba Nanak Kartarpur, among other falling under the district of Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Tarn Taran and Fazilka in the State of Punjab.

Explore More